Essex UCU Rotating Header Image

Branch committee and dep reps

Elected Members of Essex UCU

Committee Members and Officers of the branch

Officers and other members of the local committee are Essex UCU members elected annually at the branch AGM by the branch membership as a whole. These are voluntary roles although some receive time off from work (facility time). Legally H&S reps and Union Learning reps receive time off for their roles. The committee meet regularly to discuss issues pertinent to local members and decide branch strategy.

The current committee is listed below. Nominations for each AY open in Spring and are announced at the AGM in June – see branch meetings webpage

However once the new committee is announced, 4 new members can be co-opted on to join throughout the AY. Please get involved and consider taking up a role in your branch. Having a committee made up of members from across our branch is essential for our democracy and efficacy and the role is rewarding in its own right. If you require more information please contact or a member of our current committee

See our branch rules for more information

ESSEX UCU committee : June 2021-AGM 2022

President                                             Irene McMullin

Vice-President                                  Jak Peake

Secretary                                             Paul Siddall

Treasurer                                            Billy Woods

Equality and Diversity Officer    vacant

Membership and Recruitment Officer                       vacant

Anti-casualisation officer            vacant


Ordinary Committee members:    

Colin Samson

Nicholas Beuret

Ewen Speed

Michael Bailey

Lorna Finlayson

Dave Rush

Felicity Szenat

Lorcan Whitehead (Casework Coordinator)

Lynne Jordan

Kate Rockett (Pensions rep)

Kate Seymour

Jane Hindley (Environmental rep jointly with Ellisif Wasmuth and Elia Valentini)

Ellisif Wasmuth

Tom Flynn

Sandra Moog

Gregory White

Hannah Gibson

Cara Booker

Emily Jones

Ex officio:            Steve Sangwine (former branch president and NEC treasurer)


Returning Officer

Tom Cornford, Law

The returning officer is appointed by the Committee and is responsible for organising all local elections and ballots.

Congress Representatives


Congress representatives are elected at annually or via GMs and represent Essex UCU at meetings of National Congress and the Higher Education Sector Conference (HESC).


Departmental Representatives

Departmental representatives (dep reps) are the first point of contact between the department and the union. If your department is not represented in the list below, please contact Lorraine Collins

Dep reps will be approved at each annual AGM as per the list below on that date.

Department Representative
Academic Section Lynne Jordan

Dave Rush (Skills for Success)

 Life Sciences  Nelson Fernandez
Computer Science and Electronic Engineering Martin Reed

Javier Andreu-Perez

Communications and external relations Safwaad Ahmed
Economics Economics Kate Rockett
Essex Business School Nicholas Beuret M&M

Sandra Moog, OSHRM

(large dept so we require additional reps for the Accounting dept)

Government Anam Kuraishi

Gina Reinhardt

Health and Social Care Ewen Speed
History Peter Gurney
HR Samer Gharib
ISER Paul Siddall
Pathways Essex Billy Woods
Language and Linguistics Aulaya Dos Santos
Law Tom Cornford, Tom Flynn
Literature, Film, and Theatre Studies Jak Peake, Jordan Savage
Mathematics Jesus Martinez-Garcia
Physics Centre Martin Reed CSEE
Planning Office Sarah Manning-Press Research & Enterprise Office
Psychology Geoff Cole
Research & Enterprise Office Sarah Manning-Press
School of Philosophy and Art History Irene McMullin
Sociology Michael Bailey, Colin Samson
Southend Campus Gregory White
SRES John Mills
UK Data Archive Sharon Bolton

Edge Hotel: Jenny Kaye



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *